top of page
mwatt1082

Bolognese Sauce



I love this recipe, and so will you! I usually add red wine to my bolognese, but since I've decided to cut out alcohol, I've been adding a secret ingredient that my sister has passed on to me and my Mum- the magical dark soy sauce! I've also tried it with Maggi Liquid Seasoning and it is to die-for! It is so addictive that you'll want thirds of this. Trust me when I say that, so double up on these quantities and be prepared to have some reserved in the freezer. Enjoy, and you can thank my sister for this one!




Serves 4

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cooking time: 20- 30 minutes


Ingredients:


Olive Oil

1 large onion, choppd

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

500g minced beef

2 x 400g tins of chopped tomatoes

1 beef stock cube, any kind really except fish

1 tbsp dried basil

1 tbsp dried oregano

1 tbsp hot chilli flakes, optional

1 tbsp Maggi liguid seasoning or dark soy sauce

2 tsps demerara sugar

Lots of freshly cracked black pepper

A handful of fresh basil, chopped

Grated Parmesan or Gran Padano for serving



Method:

Fry the chopped onion in some olive oil and let fry until translucent. Add the garlic and cook for a minute until it gives off its aroma. Add the minced beef. Try and chop up the mince into smaller pieces with your spoon. Let this cook for about 5 minutes, stirring often.


Add the tomatoes in, and fill one of the tins half way with hot water and add this to the sauce. Add the dried herbs, stock cube, chilli flakes, if using, Maggi or dark soy sauce, sugar and plenty of black pepper. Let this come to boil, turn down heat and let simmer to thicken until reduced by an inch or more.


Once the sauce has reduced, taste and adjust salt to your taste. Add the fresh basil and it's ready to serve.


Serve this with some homemade pasta, and top with a generous sprinkling of Parmesan or Gran Padano cheese!

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page